There are moments in one’s musical career that can be earth-shattering. Sometimes it takes the rest of our lives to apply these insights, these pivotal moments. Have you ever had this experience? For me, some of my greatest musical moments occurred during private piano lessons.

“Where is the music coming from?” my professor asked me. So many answers to this one question. My hands. My fingers. Go a little deeper. My ears. My mind. Deeper still. My heart. My memory.

“Yes, music comes from all these places, but it must be grounded in something substantial. I want you to try to play this piece from the center of your belly.”

I remember that I was playing Bach’s Allemande from the French Suite in F Major. I had gotten to know this piece pretty well. My fingers knew where to go. My ears were guiding me. I even was beginning to feel the emotional undertones well up inside me. But something was missing. I still felt uneasiness with the piece.

Placing my hands on my belly, I took a deep breath. So this is where the music is coming from? From the center of me? Placing my hands on the keyboard took on a new meaning. I felt a sense of total commitment, trust and opening. I was willing to be a channel. I was allowing the music to flow from me.

Fast-forward four years. I now have the privilege of guiding students through the beautiful landscape of playing the piano. Lately I have been talking with my students about finding their ready position. This must happen before they even touch the keys. I like to relay this concept back to sports. Every sport has a ready position. Sometimes as artists we forget this. We too must remember to ask ourselves, “Where does it come from?” In answering this question we begin to remember why we play music in the first place.

Music sings the melody of our own souls. In choosing to believe that there is a source to our sound, we allow the music to move as us and through us. Connect with this power and never fear it. For once you do, you will find places of inner-strength that you never believed to be possible.

About Lela Clawson-Miller

Lela is a native of Colorado and graduated from the University of Northern Colorado with a degree in Music. She currently teaches piano and serves as an accompanist in the Fort Collins area. Her greatest passions in life are music, yoga, Eastern philosophy, writing, hiking, ballroom dance and sculpture. More blog entrees may be found at http://heartmindspeaks.wordpress.com/.